Restaurant Review – Urban Diner

27 Dec

Urban Diner
12427 102 Avenue NW
Edmonton, AB
780-488-7274
www.urbandiner.com

This review has been a long time in the making. At first, I wasn’t going to spend the time reviewing a restaurant in a different province. The more I thought about it, people need to know about this place! There were many delicious looking items on their breakfast menu, but only one deserves any special attention in my opinion… but I digress.

My fiance and I spent a few days in Edmonton this September. Our trip was capped off when we saw Weezer perform at the Sonic Boom festival on the Northlands grounds. Anyone who is a Canadian Weezer fan knows that seeing them live is a rare and cherishable event. We spent time at our downtown hotel, visited the West Edmonton Mall a couple of times, and two fun filled trips to Ikea. Good times! In addition to these fun activities, we also dined at numerous eateries. I must say I was disappointed by the food. We based all of our selections on reviews found on www.urbanspoon.com. The one place that had the highest percent of satisfied customers was Urban Diner. It was rated a 90% by Urbanspoon users. We just had to try it!

Before we dined at Urban Diner, we worked up an appetite shopping at Mountain Equipment Co-Op just a couple of blocks away. We found some sweet backpacks and head warming accessories. The restaurant was VERY busy when we were there. From what I’ve read, it is like that constantly. The interior was clean, modern, and rustic… a very cool little joint that’s for sure! They pride themselves in scratch cooking and locally sourced ingredients.

Enough with the chit-chat, lets talk about what really matters… the food. One thing that struck me as odd was that they serve breakfast exclusively until 2pm. Initially I was disappointed because we had eaten breakfast at the hotel earlier. I was looking forward to the burgers I’ve read about. Since this was not possible, I had to suck it up and order breakfast… again. The breakfast menu looked really good! Most items were old standards, but with twists. Here is a link to their brecky menu. I originally thought I wanted some sort of eggs benedict, but when I saw it was was like… NICE! It was the ‘Breakfast Burger’!!! I ordered it when the server came by.

When it came, my eyes widened! This beautiful sandwich of yum had black forest ham, crispy bacon, meatloaf, fried egg, cheddar, cilantro lime aioli, all on a onion kaiser bun!!! It came with a side of mediocre deep fried hash browns. This burger was one of the greatest things I have ever eaten! All of the toppings were amazing, especially the meatloaf! Mmmmmmm, meatloaf. Each bite was like a back rub. If I kept on about how flippin’ awesome this burger was I would just be repeating myself over, and over again, so I’ll stop.

So, if you are ever in Edmonton, please heed my suggestion and go try the breakfast burger! I’d even drive the 5 or so hour drive just to have it.

Urban Diner - Downtown on Urbanspoon

4 Responses to “Restaurant Review – Urban Diner”

  1. Amanda December 28, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

    Thanks for the suggestion! We are headed out to Edmonton on the 30th and am excited to try the Urban Diner!

  2. Frank Melocco January 11, 2011 at 3:40 am #

    Wow…I love everything in this post. Now I am greedy to try this food. because this is “A perfect choice for a special occasion”!

  3. notesfromrumbleycottage January 20, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    I have never been to Edmonton but I will kwwp this in mind if we ever get there.

  4. Susan March 3, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    mmm, I love that restaurant!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

