REVIEW: Museo

27 Feb

Museo
950 Spadina Cres E (inside the Mendel Art Gallery)
Saskatoon, SK S7K
(306) 651-3933

http://www.museocoffee.com/

This last week has been great in terms of coffee. I’ve had two of the best cups ever, and I feel like writing about it. First of all, I’m writing this completely jacked on caffeine. My eyes and fingers are uncontrollably dancing all over the place. I’m hitting the backspace button more than letters due to spelling mistakes. I LOVE CAFFEINE!

I’ve wanted to try Museo for quite some time. I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about them and their passion for the bean. Located in the Mendel Art Gallery, Museo offers a fine selection of premium coffees, french pressed coffee, and craft made beverages. And to top it off, they roast their own beans! They also offer a variety of tea. My Fiancee ordered a latte and I ordered a cappuccino.

The smell of the drinks were incredible… two cups full of rich and toasty yum! It was unlike any cappuccino I’ve had in Saskatoon. Most espresso drinks here are one dimensional in flavour and made with over-roasted beans. This creates an espresso that is very bitter. By the smells alone of our two fresh cups, I could tell that the beans were roasted medium before grinding. A medium roast is how a bean should be roasted for espresso. It tasted very similar to espresso made from imported Italian coffees. This cappuccino was so toasty, balanced, and sweet. The sweetness was not from sugar but from the natural sugars in the milk and from a properly pulled shot of espresso. The temperature of the beverage was a little cool but it sufficed. The crema and foam was thick and rich and the design from the pour was an added touch.

“Today, a new zeitgeist in coffee is emerging, where craftsmanship and quality is used to promote ethically sourced, high quality coffee selling above fair-trade price… fostering consumer appreciation for quality completes and makes the entire project sustainable”

I’m stoked that there is a place in Saskatoon where I can find an authentic espresso based coffee drink. In true prairie fashion we are behind the rest of the world by about 20 years…we finally have a cafe that rivals ones found in Vancouver and Toronto! We’ll be back many times!

P.S. On a side note, my Fiancee may have become a coffee person thanks to the Museo Latte!

Museo on Urbanspoon

One Response to “REVIEW: Museo”

  1. Alison February 28, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    Actually I got a Piccolo: 90 ml, 1 shot (30 ml) with 1:2 milk, little foam; it was smaller in oz. than the Latte: about 6-8oz vs. 10oz. :o)

Leave a Reply

